How much money won’t I have at age 70 if I keep watching TV?

If I watch TV for about 1½ hours a day for 26 days of a month (all the days of the week except Sundays)  for 5 years (from age 15 -20) at $20 an hour at 10% interest, and if I did the calculations correctly, I will have lost about $61,684.26. And if I did this until I was 70 years old (55 years) I would have lost $22,480,060.57. So if I watched TV for about 1½ hours a day for about 26 days a month, at $20 an hour at a 10% interest, for about 55 years, I would have lost 22,480,060.57 useful dollars. Then TV is not worth all that money. I could earn and learn a lot more if I did not do this, and it would do me a lot of good. But if I added all the screen time in all the days, which is about 3hr for school work for 5 days a week at $20 an hour at 10% interest for a year would cost about $21,325.64 for 1 year (7 months) for my school work on the computer. And if we add that to 1 year of watching TV would cost about $31988.46.

I am going to end with a challenging for you readers To NOT watch any TV or any movies (including doing to a theatre to do so, at a friend’s house, video games, etc.) in other words, ‘Stay away from a screen, unless to do work at a computer’, For a month.

And please leave in the comments about how well you did the challenge, and tell what you did instead of watching TV!

2 thoughts on “How much money won’t I have at age 70 if I keep watching TV?

  1. I love this! I myself am not a great mathematician. I would never have gone through all that trouble to get the correct answer to the equation. I don’t watch a lot of TV. Maybe a movie every week or two. As I am in my high school years, I find that I have little time else save my extra curricular activities such as music, dance, or theatre.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

