Magna Carta

Generations of the Englishmen would celebrate the Magna Carta as a symbol of freedom, after the king that was after John I. Before the king became king when Robin Hood was alive, the king was Richard I also called the Lionheart, was a brother of that harsh and very cruel John I. When Richard I was king his youngest brother was trying to take over the throne, many times before he, Richard I, died.

After the death of Richard I, John I took over the throne after he gained power over his nephew Arthur in 1199. As soon as John I gained the throne he immediately angered the people with his cruelty. John I started to go poor, when he raised the taxes without his barons’ permission.

The Pope at that time did not allow John I into the church and even threatened to close all the churches until he, John I, changed his mind about the king appointing his own archbishops. So John I changed his mind but not his cruelty. After he raised the taxes, to protect himself without his barons’ permission to raise the taxes, they started to go against him.

In 1215 civil war broke out, and the rebels– led by one of his baron’s, John’s longtime anniversary — gained control of London. John yielded, and on June 15, 1215, at Runnymede he accepted terms included in a document called the Articles of the Barons. Four days later the king and the barons issued a formal version of the document, which would be known as the Magna Carta.

After John I’s death in 1216, his nine year old son, Henry III, reissued the Magna Carta. The document was reissued again in 1217and again in 1225. Each subsequently issued of the Magna Carta followed that “final” 1225. In the 17th century, however, two defining acts of English legislation– the Petition of Right and habeas Corpus Act–referred to Clause 39, with states that “no free man shall be… imprisoned or disseised [dispossessed]… except by the lawful judgment of his peers or by the law of the land” Clause 40 also had dramatic implications for future legal systems in Britain and America.

In 1776, rebellious American colonists looked to the Magna Carta as a model for their demands of liberty from the English crown. Its legacy is especially evident in the Bill rights and the U.S. constitution, and nowhere more so than in the 5th Amendment, which echoes Clause 39. So after Richard I the next two kings, who was his youngest brother John I and his, John I, son Henry III, were very cruel kings, but after them were all good kings until the next cruel king.

Leave a Reply

